Advanced Search | Search A!:
Volume 26, Number 5 — May 2019

Milligan Students Honored with Arts Awards

May 04, 2008

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, Tenn. — Milligan College's recent Awards Convocation was a special day for many Milligan students who were honored for their accomplishments this past year.

Local students receiving arts awards include:

The Outstanding Student Scholarship Award for Music, which is presented to the person deemed to have the most consistently exhibited excellence in music courses, ensembles and personal performance, was presented to Erin Aubrey, a sophomore music major from Elizabethton. Kelly Sams of Jonesborough received the Music Educators National Conference Student Chapter Award.

Theatre Recognition Awards were presented Gigi Urgo Leonard of Milligan College, Tenn., and Tina Radtke of Gray, Tenn.

Leonard and Radtke, along with Andy Frost and Kayla Toler, both of Milligan College, Tenn., received The Fine Arts Award, presented to graduating seniors majoring in fine arts. Along with excellence in the classroom, this award acknowledges students who have best exemplified what it means to be an artist.

Other award recipients include:

Theatre Recognition Awards were presented to Sharayah Cochran of Oakwood, Va.; Kara Crotts of Forest City, N.C.; Megan Gable of Lebanon, Ind.; Tyler Simmons of Newburgh, Ind.; and Kyle Kuhn of Fishers, Ind.

Kuhn also received The Ross Bader Concert Choir Award, which is presented each year to the person deemed to have made the greatest contribution to the musical and spiritual life of the Concert Choir. The recipient is selected by vote of the Concert Choir members.

Cochran, Crotts and Simmons, along with Bailey Carter of Avon, Ind., were recognized with Fine Arts Awards.

Julie Pickens of Hermitage, Tenn., received the Women's Chorale Award, and Welbie Prinston of Knoxville, Tenn., received the Orchestra Award.

The Performing and Visual Arts Outstanding Student Scholarship is awarded each year to a rising junior or senior fine arts major who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who also has found significant ways to connect to the many facets of Milligan's fine arts program. This year's recipient was Kaitlyn Aigner of Ferrum, Va.

For more information about Alpha Chi National Honor Society inductees and other honor society recognitions, visit

A! ExtraTopics: Art, Awards, Music, Theatre