Advanced Search | Search A!:
Volume 24, Number 10 — October 2017

TAC offering grant advisory panels

April 03, 2016

NASHVILLE, TN — The Tennessee Arts Council announces that as part of the annual grant review process, it hosts advisory panels so citizens from across Tennessee can provide expert guidance in evaluating grant applications. They help enable the Commission to make informed decisions in awarding grants and technical assistance recommendations to applicants.

Advisory panels represent a specific artistic discipline or grant program. Panel composition ideally represents cultural and geographic diversity.

Panel meetings are open to the public.

While not mandatory, it is strongly recommended for a representative of the organization to be present at the time of review to respond to panelist questions, if asked. Panelists are asked to assign ratings for each evaluation criteria. They may discuss the strengths and weaknesses of the application and give constructive comments. Apart from running the panel meeting and keeping the discussions consistent with review criteria, Commission staff members do not take an active role in the review process and do not score applications. Staff will collect all score sheets, calculate the average score for each application, and prepare a list of all applications ranked from the highest to lowest score.

Funding recommendations are based on the final ratings and rankings of all applications and available funds. This is a competitive process, and all funding recommendations are presented to the Commission board members for final approval.

Y 17 ADVISORY REVIEW PANEL MEETING DATES

Panel (Category) Meeting Date

Dance (APS & PS) — Friday, April 1, 2016

Arts Education Teacher Training (AE-TT) — Monday, April 4, 2016

Folklife (APS & PS) — Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Music (APS & PS) — Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Rural Arts Project Support I for arts organizations (RAPS) — Thursday, April 7, 2016

Rural Arts Project Support II for non-arts organizations (RAPS) — Friday, April 8, 2016

Arts Education Community Learning (AE-CL) — Monday, April 11, 2016

Theater (APS & PS) — Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Community Arts (APS & PS) — Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Literary (APS & PS)

Thursday, April 14, 2016 — Funds for At Risk Youth (FAY)

Friday, April 15, 2016 — Inter-Arts (APS & PS)

Monday, April 18, 2016 — Visual Arts and Craft (APS & PS)

Tuesday, April 19, 2016 — Media and Design (APS & PS) — Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Arts 360 Arts Integration — Thursday, April 21, 2016

Arts Access (AA) — Friday, April 22, 2016